Hufford named 'Sugar Man of the Year'

by Eric Schroeder
Share This:

NEW YORK CITY — Charles Hufford, former president and chief executive officer of Midwest Agri-Commodities, has been named the 2006 "Sugar Man of the Year."

A veteran of more 40 years in the sugar industry, Mr. Hufford became the 49th recipient of the Dyer Memorial Award, accepting the award on May 10 at the Yale Club in New York City. The award is named after B.W. Dyer & Co., a 104-year-old brokerage company in sweeteners and foods.

Mr. Hufford was recognized for his contributions to the sugar industry, including his role in the development for new markets for sugar beet co-products, primarily beet pulp and molasses.

He was president of Midwest Agri-Commodities for 26 years, growing the company from one owner and one factory to four owners and 13 factories. Today, more than 70% of sugar beets are planted annually by members of Midwest Agri-Commodities.

Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Food Business News do not reflect those of Food Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.