U.S.D.A. names biotech board members

by Eric Schroeder
Share This:

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has selected 22 members from more than 150 nominations to serve on its Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture. The committee is charged with examining the long-term impacts of biotechnology on the U.S. food and agriculture system and the U.S.D.A., and providing guidance to the U.S.D.A. on pressing individual issues related to the application of biotechnology in agriculture.

Committee members will serve one- or two-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to six consecutive years. The committee will meet in Washington up to four times per year and will be chaired by Russell C. Redding, interim dean of agriculture and environmental sciences, Delaware Valley College, in Aspers, Pa.

Other members of the committee include: Isaura Andaluz, executive director, Cuatro Puertas, Albuquerque, N.M.; Paul C. Anderson, executive director of international programs, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, St. Louis; Laura L. Batcha, chief of policy and external relations for the Organic Trade Association, Putney, Vt.; Charles M. Benbrook, chief scientist for The Organic Center, Enterprise, Ore.; Barry R. Bushue, farmer, vice-president of the American Farm Bureau Federation and president of the Oregon Farm Bureau, Boring, Ore.; Daryl D. Buss, dean of the school of veterinary medicine at the University of Wisconsin in Madison; Lynn E. Clarkson, farmer and president, Clarkson Grain Co., Cerro Gordo, Ill.; Leon C. Corzine, farmer, Assumption, Ill.; Michael S. Funk, chairman of United Natural Foods, Inc., in Nevada City, Calif.; Douglas C. Goehring, North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture, Menoken, N.D.; Melissa L. Hughes, corporate counsel and director of government affairs, CROPP Cooperative/Organic Valley Family of Farms, Viroqua, Wis.; Darrin Ihnen, farmer and chairman of the National Corn Growers Association, Hurley, S.D.; Gregory A. Jaffe, director, Biotechnology Project, Center for Science in the Public Interest, McLean,Va.; David W. Johnson, assistant director of research, Cal/West Seeds, La Crosse, Wis.; Keith F. Kisling, farmer and chairman of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission, Burlington, Okla.; Josephine O. (Josette) Lewis, director of agricultural development, Arcadia Biosciences, Davis, Calif.; Mary-Howell R. Martens, farmer and manager, Lakeview Organic Grain L.L.C., Penn Yan, N.Y.; Marty D. Matlock, professor of ecological engineering, department of biological and agricultural engineering at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville; Angela M. Olsen, senior adviser and associate general counsel for DuPont Co. and Pioneer Hi-Bred, Arlington, Va.; Jerome B. Slocum, farmer and president of North Mississippi Grain Co. in Coldwater, Miss.; and Latresia A. Wilson, vice-president of the Black Farmers and Agriculturalists Association, Florida Chapter, farmer, and physician, Ocala, Fla.

Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Food Business News do not reflect those of Food Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.