Beverage association beefs up board

by Eric Schroeder
Share This:
Search for similar articles by keyword: [Beverage]

WASHINGTON — The American Beverage Association has elected 10 members to its board of directors.

The three members elected for a first term are Sally Hargis, vice-president of corporate strategy, Ozarks Coca-Cola/Dr Pepper Bottling Co.; John Kalil, vice-president, Kalil Bottling Co.; and Gary Smith, president and chief executive officer, Big Red, Inc.

Those elected to serve for a second term are Brian Charneski, president, L&E Bottling Company, Inc.; Stefan Kozak, c.e.o., Red Bull North America, Inc.; Larry Lordi, president, Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Northern New England; and Cliff Ritchie, president and c.e.o., Carolina Beverage Corp.

In addition, three current board members, who are serving based on an appointment by the chair, were elected by the A.B.A. Membership. These members are Zein Abdalla, president, PepsiCo, Inc.; Tim Brown, chairman, president and c.e.o., Nestle Waters North America, Inc.; and Jack Pelo, president and c.e.o., Swire Coca-Cola, USA.

“We are pleased to welcome new industry leaders to A.B.A.’s board of directors and retain additional leadership to continue their important service,” said Claude Nielsen, chair of A.B.A.’s board of directors and president and c.e.o. of Coca-Cola Bottling Company United, Inc. “Together with the valuable insight and experience of these members, the board will continue its work to help our industry serve its customers, consumers and communities by advancing meaningful solutions to complex societal challenges.”

Members of the board serve a four-year term and participate in semi-annual meetings that help shape association policy and initiatives.  With the addition of these members, there are now 29 members on the board.
Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Food Business News do not reflect those of Food Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.