C.F.T.C. chairman resigns

by Eric Schroeder
Share This:

WASHINGTON — Reuben Jeffery III, chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission since July 2005, has resigned, effective June 27. Mr. Jeffrey has been nominated and confirmed as Undersecretary of State for Economic, Energy and Agricultural Affairs by President George Bush. With Mr. Jeffrey’s departure, the C.F.T.C. named Walter Lukken acting chairman. Mr. Lukken, who is commissioner of the C.F.T.C., will exercise the executive and administrative functions of the commission until a new chairman has been appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate.

Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Food Business News do not reflect those of Food Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.