Members of dietary guidelines committee announced

by Josh Sosland
Share This:

WASHINGTON — Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer and Health and Human Services Secretary Mike Leavitt on Oct. 24 announced the 13 members of the 2010 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee.

Representing prominent medical and scientific institutions from across the United States, the researchers were selected for their expertise in dietary intake, human metabolism, behavioral change and health. They will advise the secretaries on nutrition and dietary revisions needed to the existing Dietary Guidelines.

Following a review of the scientific literature, public comment and deliberations in an open forum, the committee will develop an advisory report to be submitted to the secretaries and used to prepare the 2010 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. The guidelines, which seek to improve public health through nutrition, are reviewed for revision every five years, as mandated by Congress.

The first committee meeting will be Oct. 30-31 in Washington.

Named to the committee are:

Linda V. Van Horn, professor and interim chair, Department of Preventative Medicine, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University, Chicago.

Naomi K. Fukagawa, professor of medicine and associate program directors of the Clinical Research Center, University of Vermont and Fletcher Allen Health Care, Burlington, Vt.

Cheryl Achterberg, dean and professor, College of Human Sciences, Ohio State University, Columbus.

Lawrence J. Appel, professor of medicine, epidemiology and international health (human nutrition), Division of General Internal Medicine, and director, ProHealth Clinical Research Unit, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore.

Roger A. Clemens, associate director, regulatory science, and adjunct professor, pharmacology and pharmaceutical science, the University of Southern California, Los Angeles.

Miriam E. Nelson, director, John Hancock Center for Physical Activity and Nutrition, Tufts University, Boston.

Sharon M. Nickols-Richardson, associate professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pa.

Thomas A. Pearson, senior associate dean, clinical research, and Albert D. Kaiser Professor, Department of Community and Preventive Medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, Rochester, N.Y.

Rafael Perez-Escamilla, professor, nutritional sciences and public health, University of Connecticut, and director, Connecticut Center of Excellence for Eliminating Health Disparities among Latinos, Storrs, Conn.

Xavier Pi-Sunyer, professor, applied physiology, Columbia University Teachers College and chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Nutrition, St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital Center, New York.

Eric B. Rimm, associate professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School, and associate professor of epidemiology and nutrition, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston.

Joanne L. Slavin, professor, Department of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

Christine L. Williams, vice-president and medical director, Healthy Directions, Inc., and former professor, clinical pediatrics and director, Children’s Cardiovascular Health Center, Columbia University, New York.

Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Food Business News do not reflect those of Food Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.