BATTLE CREEK, MICH. — The board of directors of The Kellogg Co. has elected John A. Bryant, the company’s president and chief executive officer, as chairman of the board, effective July 1. He will succeed James M. Jenness, who will remain on the board as a non-executive director. Mr. Bryant has been a member of the company’s board of directors since July 2010, and has been president and c.e.o. since January 2011. He joined Kellogg in 1998. Prior to becoming c.e.o., he held a variety of key senior leadership roles, including chief financial officer, president of Kellogg North America, president of Kellogg International and chief operating officer. “John has a deep understanding of all aspects of Kellogg Co.’s business and a clear vision of how we will deliver on our strategy and grow our business around the world,” Mr. Jenness said. “His election to chairman demonstrates the board’s confidence in his leadership.” Mr. Jenness has worked with and for Kellogg for 40 years. He has been a Kellogg Co. board member since 2000, and he also was the company’s c.e.o. from February 2005 until Dec. 31, 2006. Prior to joining Kellogg, he was co-founder and chief executive officer of Integrated Merchandising Systems L.L.C., and he was vice-chairman and chief operating officer of Leo Burnett Co.